Foundations · IRS 990 filings
Foundations in Portola Valley, California
- 27
- foundations with a Portola Valley address
- $137.7M
- grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
- 4
- say they accept unsolicited
- $7,500
- median grant
Grantlas lists 27 foundations that gave a Portola Valley, California address on their tax filing — 25 private foundations and 2 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $137.7 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 4 of them (15%) say they accept unsolicited requests.
Not every foundation here is a Portola Valley foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.
All 27 foundations
Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.
| Funder | Unsolicited requests | Median grant | Grants paid, latest filing | Grant range | Filing year | Fit score & contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Girls Rights Project | Accepts | $8,000 | $388,500 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Ronald Whittier Family Foundation | Accepts | $763 | $64,308 | $75 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Jalil Family Foundation | Accepts | $1,000 | $56,625 | $250 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The McCown Family Foundation | Accepts | $1,000 | $35,981 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Bay Area Lyme Major Gift FundPublic foundation | Not stated | $683,250Over $5k only | $1.4M | $680,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Bay Area Lyme FoundationGrantmaking charity | Not stated | $75,000Over $5k only | $1.2M | $7,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Tosa Foundation | Invitation only | $5,000 | $129.8M | $10 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Kabcenell Family Foundation | Invitation only | $2.4M | $2.4M | — | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Bundy Family Foundation | Invitation only | $5,000 | $337,000 | $3,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Metaphysical Arts Foundation | Invitation only | $30,000 | $285,057 | $57 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Ken and Judith Joy Family Foundation | Invitation only | $235,000 | $250,000 | $220,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Clara Fund | Invitation only | $10,000 | $222,000 | $5,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| David and Annette Jorgensen Foundation | Invitation only | $7,500 | $197,100 | $100 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Edwards Family Foundation | Invitation only | $2,500 | $166,500 | $400 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Deborah B Green Foundation | Invitation only | $82,500 | $165,000 | $5,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Toole Charitable Foundation | Invitation only | $10,000 | $155,000 | $2,500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Leslie Family Foundation | Invitation only | $26,600 | $144,907 | $26,600 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Bonnie and Marty Tenenbaum | Invitation only | $130,000 | $130,000 | — | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Janaki Balakrishnan Family Foundation | Invitation only | $23,000 | $92,500 | $500 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Costello Family Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $7,500 | $85,000 | $3,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Ferrari Family Foundation | Invitation only | $500 | $75,209 | $85 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| David & Diane Toole Foundation | Invitation only | $350 | $60,200 | $50 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Matthew Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $5,000 | $52,655 | $1,955 | FY2023 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Shineonorg Foundation | Invitation only | $6,500 | $25,000 | $2,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Cb Wellness Foundation | Invitation only | $3,000 | $9,500 | $2,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Mac Millan Family Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $250 | $4,270 | $100 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Ora Lerman Charitable Trust | Invitation only | $250 | $1,750 | $250 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
- Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
- “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.