Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Costa Mesa, California

37
foundations with a Costa Mesa address
$57.1M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
7
say they accept unsolicited
$13,500
median grant

Grantlas lists 37 foundations that gave a Costa Mesa, California address on their tax filing — 33 private foundations and 4 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $57.1 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 7 of them (19%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Costa Mesa foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 37 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Costa Mesa, California
Argyros Family FoundationAccepts$25,000$33.8M$500–$6.3MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
O L Halsell FoundationAccepts$15,000$2.6M$1,000–$220,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Lingnan FoundationAccepts$152,813$760,575$85,000–$406,654No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Segerstrom FoundationAccepts$40,000$672,500$7,500–$200,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Maximum Impact Foundation IncAccepts$21,650$482,803$1,200–$360,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Fudge Family FoundationAccepts$5,330$172,822$2,000–$119,422No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Alphonse A Burnand Medical andAccepts$20,000$113,000$10,000–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Sacred Harvest FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$2.5MOver $5k only$5.1M$10,303–$5MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Family Office Foundation IncGrantmaking charityNot stated$10,000Over $5k only$4.6M$5,000–$1.6MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Kindness FundPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$112,995—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Zonta Club of Newport Harbor FoundationGrantmaking charityNot stated$9,523Over $5k only$85,745$7,500–$35,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Abraham Family FoundationInvitation only$15,000$1.3M$1,000–$558,500No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Henry T and Elizabeth SegerstromInvitation only$125,000$1.2M$25,000–$230,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Hal and Jeanette Segerstrom FamilyInvitation only$1M$1M—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Lewis A Kingsley FoundationInvitation only$5,000$978,400$500–$135,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Eric & Martha Schweiger FoundationInvitation only$439,429$878,858$103,858–$775,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Frome Family FoundationInvitation only$10,000$829,521$1,000–$60,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Waterman FoundationInvitation only$184,167$354,851$13,483–$354,851No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Fainbarg Family FoundationInvitation only$10,000$327,300$1,000–$175,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Jabara Family FoundationInvitation only$20,000$290,000$5,000–$240,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Linda I Smith FoundationInvitation only$7,200$238,400$2,500–$20,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Z Supply FoundationInvitation only$25,000$225,259$300–$100,000Within 5% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Hearty FoundationInvitation only$6,300$205,187$180–$131,400No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Wk Russell Family FoundationInvitation only$32,000$155,000$12,000–$32,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Uhl & Kk FoundationInvitation only$2,000$121,517$100–$25,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

12 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.