Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Carlsbad, California

43
foundations with a Carlsbad address
$34.3M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
7
say they accept unsolicited
$5,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 43 foundations that gave a Carlsbad, California address on their tax filing — 40 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $34.3 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 7 of them (16%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Carlsbad foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 43 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Carlsbad, California
The Parker FoundationAccepts$25,000$2.6M$1,000–$300,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
David and Julie Hnatek FamilyAccepts$3,000$1.8M$40–$1.7MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Capstone Impact FoundationAccepts$42,500$525,333$5,000–$250,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Wildize FoundationAccepts$26,500$94,975$4,106–$46,975No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Raskin Family FoundationAccepts$1,000$30,500$500–$12,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Berneice U Lynn FoundationAccepts$2,764$22,840$1,845–$7,175No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Blackburn FoundationAccepts$1,000$6,250$100–$12,560No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
California Foundation for Stronger CommunitiesCommunity foundationNot stated$25,000Over $5k only$8.1M$5,470–$265,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Norman and Judith Jo Kreiss Family FoundationPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$25,590—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Pro Player FoundationPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$7,427—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Sarnat Family FoundationInvitation only$133,500$10.6M$50,000–$8.3MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kisco Cares FoundationInvitation only$1,308$3M$105–$1.4MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Guest House Ministries FoundationInvitation only$2.4M$2.7M$2.1M–$2.7MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Sombra Road IncInvitation only$140,000$1.1M$429–$817,651No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Cameron Family FoundationInvitation only$15,000$642,000$500–$275,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Bergelectric Charitable FoundationInvitation only$4,000$613,075$500–$50,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
James P Previti Charitable FundInvitation only$50,000$495,800$5,000–$120,800No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The William Hall Tippett and RuthInvitation only$10,000$283,000$2,500–$35,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Harold & Libby Ziff FoundationInvitation only$25,000$232,500$360–$100,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Heller Family FoundationInvitation only$20,210$221,500$5,000–$140,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The James Previti Family FoundationInvitation only$50,000$217,219$17,219–$100,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Pacific Treasure FoundationInvitation only$131,950$163,900$100,000–$163,900Up 64% over 3 yearsFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Paul and Magdalena Ecke PoinsettiaInvitation only$5,000$143,500$1,000–$40,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Sound Start a Sound United FoundationInvitation only$403,125$125,000$125,000–$681,250No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Jp Sethi and Renu Sethi FoundationInvitation only$10,000$98,409$2,500–$50,909No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

18 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.