Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Los Altos, California

117
foundations with a Los Altos address
$690.3M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
13
say they accept unsolicited
$5,700
median grant

Grantlas lists 117 foundations that gave a Los Altos, California address on their tax filing — 114 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $690.3 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 13 of them (11%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Los Altos foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 117 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Los Altos, California
The David and Lucile Packard FoundationAccepts$150,000$350M$5,000–$54.9MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Nadia's Gift FoundationAccepts$25,000$150,000$25,000–$150,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Johnson Tri-Dom FoundationAccepts$10,000$97,500$2,500–$70,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Brett & Michelle Galloway FoundationAccepts$7,500$88,000$1,000–$55,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
White Mountain InstituteAccepts$163$70,985$25–$65,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
California Institute of ComputerAccepts$30,000$30,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Lu Wang Family FoundationAccepts$1,000$23,200$100–$7,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ato Foundation of Berkeley IncAccepts$2,000$20,000$1,000–$2,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Radford FoundationAccepts$1,250$16,950$100–$7,750FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Immanence FoundationAccepts$1,875$9,750$1,000–$5,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Lin Family Charitable FoundationAccepts$5,000$5,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Caroline and Roxanne MontroseAccepts$5,000$5,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Knoll-Macdonald FoundationAccepts$1,000$4,000$500–$2,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Los Altos Mountain View Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$12,500Over $5k only$79.8M$5,250–$75MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Los Altos Educational FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$10,500Over $5k only$2.6M$5,000–$2.6MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
100 Women Charitable Foundation IncCommunity foundationNot stated$30,000Over $5k only$180,000$20,000–$40,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Heising-Simons FoundationInvitation only$148,432$149.6M$2,492–$3.6MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Grove FoundationInvitation only$120,000$34.3M$10,000–$1.9MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Anne Wojcicki FoundationInvitation only$100,000$21.7M$1,000–$4MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Wadhwani Institute for ArtificialInvitation only$731,283$7M$217,138–$6MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Wadhwani Charitable FoundationInvitation only$150,001$6.3M$25,000–$3.7MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The James and Rebecca MorganInvitation only$100,000$6.1M$2,500–$1MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Packard Humanities InstituteInvitation only$281,000$3.7M$87,040–$1.4MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Fat Tire FoundationInvitation only$25,000$3.1M$500–$1MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Strongpoint FoundationInvitation only$15,000$2.1M$150–$1.8MFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.

92 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.