Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Abilene, Texas

39
foundations with an Abilene address
$107.3M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
12
say they accept unsolicited
$11,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 39 foundations that gave an Abilene, Texas address on their tax filing — 34 private foundations and 5 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $107.3 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 12 of them (31%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is an Abilene foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 39 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Abilene, Texas
Kickapoo Springs FoundationAccepts$12,500$12.7M$500–$2.5MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Legett FoundationAccepts$10,000$12.6M$300–$2.5MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Dodge Jones Legacy FoundationAccepts$2.1M$2.1M—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Directors FoundationAccepts$25,000$2M$500–$762,209FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Tecumseh FoundationAccepts$10,000$1.7M$250–$210,200FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Jm Parker FoundationAccepts$25,000$1.1M$1,500–$250,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Shelton Family FoundationAccepts$10,000$875,900$2,000–$166,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Greathouse FoundationAccepts$5,000$767,200$1,000–$138,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Barber FoundationAccepts$2,250$202,500$1,000–$37,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Moss Adamson Spalding CharitiesAccepts$1,000$70,323$100–$100,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The James Foundation Charitable TrustAccepts$2,000$34,000$1,000–$10,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kingdom Project 7 BillionAccepts$75$60$60–$675FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Community Foundation of AbileneCommunity foundationNot stated$18,000Over $5k only$28.8M$5,010–$8.2MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Robison Excelsior FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$14,250Over $5k only$411,950$5,000–$100,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Cancer Services Network IncPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$206,644—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Abilene Wylie HS Project Graduation IncFederationNot stated—Over $5k only$136,157—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Stamford Memorial Hospital FoundationFederationNot stated$65,000Over $5k only$70,000$60,000–$70,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Dian Graves Owen FoundationInvitation only$20,000$24.1M$400–$4MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Karakin FoundationInvitation only$30,000$16.4M$500–$3MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Wp & Dell Andrews Newell Charitable TRInvitation only$44,190$707,038$33,924–$353,519FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Whitener Family FoundationInvitation only$20,000$565,000$5,000–$100,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Willie I Wanda & W F MartinInvitation only$10,000$431,000$5,000–$125,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Ruth and Lee Caldwell FoundationInvitation only$15,000$277,800$100–$80,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Massey Family Charitable TrustInvitation only$5,000$239,620$500–$28,835FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
McGlothlin FoundationInvitation only$10,000$185,600$600–$70,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.

14 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.