Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Erie, Pennsylvania

56
foundations with an Erie address
$95.3M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
19
say they accept unsolicited
$10,032
median grant

Grantlas lists 56 foundations that gave an Erie, Pennsylvania address on their tax filing — 50 private foundations and 6 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $95.3 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 19 of them (34%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is an Erie foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 56 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Erie, Pennsylvania
The Lutheran Foundation for Long-TermAccepts$62,500$4.5M$5,000–$2MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Jem Charitable FoundationAccepts$250,000$1M$100–$450,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
John M & Gertrude E PetersenAccepts$10,000$960,940$5,000–$750,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
M J Surgala TRAccepts$10,000$828,850$250–$100,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Carnahan-Jackson FoundationAccepts$25,000$754,023$1,700–$75,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Arlene H Smith Charitable FoundationAccepts$11,500$411,150$5,000–$70,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Greater Erie Economic DevelopmentAccepts$2,500$401,798$125–$150,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kern Family Foundation IncAccepts$15,000$364,925$10,000–$275,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Britton Family FoundationAccepts$2,500$265,375$1,000–$22,875FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Henry A and Mary JAccepts$10,000$242,000$5,000–$50,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Netherland Fund IncAccepts$7,500$77,000$500–$28,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Jordan Family FoundationAccepts$5,769$47,986$500–$19,486FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Sellers ScholarshipAccepts$1,000$41,390$1,000–$10,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Craige Pepper Family FoundationAccepts$16,025$16,025—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Mary Ann Walters Scholarship Funds TRAccepts$1,999$15,628$1,635–$5,997FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kelly Family Charitable FoundationAccepts$500$14,620$70–$6,750FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Edmond and Martha Lauer Scholarship TRAccepts$700$10,000$400–$930FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Shamburg Family FoundationAccepts$1,000$5,000$1,000–$5,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Erie Hill District CollaborativeAccepts$2,056$2,056—FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Erie Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$23,789Over $5k only$25.8M$5,044–$2.3MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
United Way of Erie CountyFederationNot stated$30,102Over $5k only$1.1M$5,551–$429,174FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
North East Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$13,765Over $5k only$516,086$5,216–$102,217FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Warner Theatre Preservation TrustGrantmaking charityNot stated$300,000Over $5k only$300,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Jewish Community Council of ErieFederationNot stated$15,000Over $5k only$97,500$7,250–$38,388FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Tom Ridge Environmental Center FoundationGrantmaking charityNot stated$5,706Over $5k only$5,706—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.

31 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.