Foundations · IRS 990 filings
Foundations in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
- 66
- foundations with a Chambersburg address
- $2.5M
- grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
- 4
- say they accept unsolicited
- $8,555
- median grant
Grantlas lists 66 foundations that gave a Chambersburg, Pennsylvania address on their tax filing — 64 private foundations and 2 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $2.5 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 4 of them (6%) say they accept unsolicited requests.
Not every foundation here is a Chambersburg foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.
Top 25 of 66 foundations
Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.
| Funder | Unsolicited requests | Median grant | Grants paid, latest filing | Grant range | Filing year | Fit score & contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| McCleary Family Foundation | Accepts | $750 | $134,545 | $250 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Elizabeth L and Fred E Robison Memorial Sc | Accepts | $9,264 | $85,810 | $802 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| F&m Trust Co Scholarship Program | Accepts | $2,000 | $12,500 | $250 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Franklin County Chapter Nsdar | Accepts | $3,000 | $7,226 | $1,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| United Way of Franklin CountyFederation | Not stated | $12,266Over $5k only | $224,108 | $5,113 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Menno Haven Auxiliary IncFederation | Not stated | $127,097Over $5k only | $97,496 | $97,496 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Lora Jean Greenawalt and Gilbert Lee Greenawa | Invitation only | $10,336 | $275,902 | $2,584 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Robert & Esther Grove Family | Invitation only | $5,000 | $145,000 | $500 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Isabel Miley McAlister Trust Under Will | Invitation only | $46,123 | $94,480 | $45,005 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Gloria M McDowell Irrv Community TR | Invitation only | $5,510 | $82,683 | $1,875 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Stenger Diehl Fund Trust Under Will | Invitation only | $18,796 | $75,185 | $17,918 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Evelyn I Beard Charitable | Invitation only | $11,064 | $67,984 | $10,794 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Gloria M McDowell Irrv TR Carlisle High Schoo | Invitation only | $5,627 | $67,522 | $5,627 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Elizabeth M Anderson Charitable Trust | Invitation only | $15,030 | $61,536 | $14,675 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Elizabeth S Pensinger Trust Under Will | Invitation only | $29,960 | $61,340 | $29,250 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Gabler Family Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $8,000 | $58,500 | $500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Emery C Etter Jr and Vada E | Invitation only | $5,000 | $50,000 | $5,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Rachel C Miller Trust | Invitation only | $46,796 | $47,903 | $45,689 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Helen M Lucas Charitable | Invitation only | $6,270 | $47,015 | $6,074 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Harry J Strickler Charitable Trust | Invitation only | $40,568 | $42,686 | $38,449 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Helen E Palmer Charitable Trust Under Will | Invitation only | $13,891 | $42,628 | $13,569 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Dr Stuart Dittmar and Winifred Dittmar Memor | Invitation only | $18,127 | $36,253 | $5,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| George E & Margaret C Diehl Reserve Trust U | Invitation only | $8,729 | $34,915 | $8,341 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Gilmore-Hoerner Endowment | Invitation only | $3,000 | $34,360 | $300 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Doris T Hutton Charitable Trust | Invitation only | $8,380 | $34,280 | $8,190 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
- Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
- “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
- A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.