Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in McLean, Virginia

112
foundations with a McLean address
$125.6M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
21
say they accept unsolicited
$8,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 112 foundations that gave a McLean, Virginia address on their tax filing — 109 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $125.6 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 21 of them (19%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a McLean foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 112 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in McLean, Virginia
Maximus FoundationAccepts$2.8M$2.1M$2.1M–$3.4MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Gratis FoundationAccepts$10,000$1M$2,500–$200,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Akerson Family FoundationAccepts$10,000$844,710$171–$150,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Fairbank FoundationAccepts$201,488$657,503$50,000–$406,015No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Rhyu FoundationAccepts$25,000$580,210$1,000–$100,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Matthew Korn and Cynthia Miller Family Foundation IncAccepts$1,800$539,878$180–$248,249No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kahn Lyons Foundation IncAccepts$200,000$400,000$50,000–$350,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
David & Lorna Gladstone FoundationAccepts$2,000$369,940$500–$150,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Jv Schiro Zavela FoundationAccepts$1,000$335,500$500–$10,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Betty L Beatty and Guy E BeattyAccepts$20,000$180,500$500–$160,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Cloudbreak Foundation IncAccepts$8,000$145,980$5,000–$10,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Mitchell & Kathy Racoosin FamilyAccepts$5,000$142,500$1,000–$75,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Felucca FundAccepts$7,500$107,000$1,000–$85,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Kokfam FoundationAccepts$700$61,170$50–$25,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Wethington Family FoundationAccepts$10,000$48,500$3,500–$15,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Wcp FoundationAccepts$4,222$41,283$425–$32,415No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Spahr FoundationAccepts$10,633$21,266$10,000–$11,266No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Good Heart FoundationAccepts$1,000$20,100$100–$6,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Naccash Foundation IncAccepts$20,000$20,000—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Los Padres FoundationAccepts$4,631$18,949$53–$11,876Up 199% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Cosgive FoundationAccepts$9,372$9,372—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Community Foundation for Northern Virginia IncCommunity foundationNot stated$15,000Over $5k only$9.4M$5,250–$1.5MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Sunrise Good Samaritan Fund IncPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$120,673—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Skillsource Group IncPublic foundationNot stated$60,000Over $5k only$111,884$51,884–$80,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Capital One Foundation IncInvitation only$100,000$36M$5,000–$10MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

87 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.