Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Fairfax, Virginia

47
foundations with a Fairfax address
$56.5M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
10
say they accept unsolicited
$10,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 47 foundations that gave a Fairfax, Virginia address on their tax filing — 43 private foundations and 4 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $56.5 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 10 of them (21%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Fairfax foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 47 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Fairfax, Virginia
Fairfax Educational Foundation IncAccepts$35.3M$35.3M—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Cornelius J & Ellen P Coakley FamilyAccepts$14,000$471,485$3,400–$93,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Van Metre Family Foundation IncAccepts$3,000$463,768$100–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Van Metre Companies Foundation IncAccepts$5,000$395,278$509–$100,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Harvey S Lowe Jr and SusanAccepts$10,000$390,000$2,500–$50,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Harry and Zoe Poole FoundationAccepts$2,500$143,000$1,000–$25,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Saharco FoundationAccepts$48,446$48,446—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Nick G Zavolas FoundationAccepts$1,500$38,750$250–$15,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Harris Goodall Squires MemorialAccepts$5,000$6,000$1,000–$5,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Foxfield Flyers Swim TeamAccepts$500$500—Within 5% over 3 yearsFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Porto Charities IncCommunity foundationNot stated$14,000Over $5k only$206,000$10,000–$20,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Officer Down Memorial Page IncPublic foundationNot stated$17,917Over $5k only$20,927$15,834–$20,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Nova Labs IncPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$3,511—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Americans for Limited Government FoundationPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$2,260—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Claude Moore Charitable FoundationInvitation only$8.2M$8.2M—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Peterson Family Foundation IncInvitation only$3,500$6.3M$250–$1.3MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Dwoskin Family FoundationInvitation only$15,000$1.1M$500–$510,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Valentine Charitable Foundation IncInvitation only$16,000$556,973$500–$108,938No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Agape Eye FoundationInvitation only$66,000$530,081$5,000–$250,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
John and Janice Wyatt FoundationInvitation only$25,000$503,980$240–$120,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Adler Foundation IncInvitation only$5,000$395,565$25–$60,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Ice Charitable FoundationInvitation only$50,000$376,000$1,000–$150,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Building Scholarly Bridges IncInvitation only$26,250$252,500$20,000–$80,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Charles L Perkins Sr CharitableInvitation only$100,000$200,000One amountNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Dan and Gloria Bohan FoundationInvitation only$10,000$127,000$2,000–$75,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

22 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.