Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Falls Church, Virginia

32
foundations with a Falls Church address
$34.2M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
12
say they accept unsolicited
$10,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 32 foundations that gave a Falls Church, Virginia address on their tax filing — 30 private foundations and 2 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $34.2 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 12 of them (38%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Falls Church foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 32 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Falls Church, Virginia
The Northrop Grumman FoundationAccepts$500$12.4M$50–$1MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Barbara McDowell andAccepts$25,000$685,280$12,771–$672,509FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Adele M Thomas Charitable Foundation IncAccepts$1,500$634,900$150–$140,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Page Family Foundation CO William J PageAccepts$10,000$513,500$1,000–$200,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Williams Family FoundationAccepts$4,000$311,000$500–$50,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Frank and Janina Petschek FoundationAccepts$2,500$238,750$200–$25,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Longview Foundation for Education inAccepts$19,745$191,223$2,000–$29,996FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Mustard Seed Foundation IncAccepts$97,375$97,375—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Beckett Charitable FoundationAccepts$22,500$70,000$20,000–$30,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Hawthorne HottensteinAccepts$16,400$17,000$15,800–$17,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Elizabeth L Lawrence Foundation IncAccepts$2,000$13,400$2,000–$3,400FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Foundation for Arab WomenAccepts$2,500$7,200$1,500–$3,200FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors- Natl Assoc Educational FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$10,000Over $5k only$119,002One amountFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
College Access FairfaxPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$96,850—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Hitt Family Foundation IncInvitation only$300,000$6.8M$25,000–$5MFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Adams Charitable FoundationInvitation only$650,000$3.5M$250,000–$2MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
John Eagle Delashmutt JrInvitation only$850,000$1.8M$800,000–$900,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Norton FoundationInvitation only$20,000$1.5M$500–$462,300FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Scheidel FoundationInvitation only$1.2M$1.2M—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
George and Carol Olmsted FoundationInvitation only$14,224$1.2M$151–$115,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Kellar Family FoundationInvitation only$2.2M$1.1M$1.1M–$3.3MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Hitt Contracting Foundation IncInvitation only$10,000$593,597$500–$73,750FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Neal C Nichols Family Foundation IncInvitation only$55,000$391,000$1,000–$120,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The James Randi EducationalInvitation only$200,000$200,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Viapath FoundationInvitation only$10,000$151,500$5,000–$25,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.

7 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.