Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Troy, Michigan

90
foundations with a Troy address
$307.7M
grants paid, FY2022–FY2025
14
say they accept unsolicited
$5,600
median grant

Grantlas lists 90 foundations that gave a Troy, Michigan address on their tax filing — 85 private foundations and 5 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2022–FY2025. Together they paid out $307.7 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 14 of them (16%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Troy foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 90 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Troy, Michigan
The Kresge FoundationAccepts$140,000$170M$150–$5MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Newman Family FoundationAccepts$5,000$112,000$500–$12,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Shakir Charitable TrustAccepts$2,000$100,000$1,000–$50,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Frederick A Vollbrecht FoundationAccepts$10,000$95,000$5,000–$30,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Homer J Van Hollenbeck FoundationAccepts$3,000$81,000One amountFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
David Kahan Family FoundationAccepts$500$76,625$100–$15,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Kakarala FoundationAccepts$1,500$72,902$377–$25,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Wj and Lillian Kemler FoundationAccepts$10,000$72,500$1,000–$20,000FY2023Locked: fit score and contacts
Kemp Klein Umphrey Endelman & MayAccepts$250$66,009$100–$50,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Francis P & Nell A RhoadesAccepts$5,500$61,500$1,500–$20,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Cadillac Products Inc FoundationAccepts$16,250$32,000$16,000–$16,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Louis Cunningham ScholarshipAccepts$5,000$13,000$2,500–$5,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Stefan Wanczyk FoundationAccepts$2,000$10,000One amountFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Charles F Yeager Foundation IncAccepts$1,350$8,850$700–$1,800FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Friends of Am OlamPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$420,000—FY2023Locked: fit score and contacts
Somerset Collection Charitable FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$14,330Over $5k only$394,003$5,500–$166,058FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ted Lindsay FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$10,875Over $5k only$192,760$7,000–$110,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
North Woodward Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$54,869Over $5k only$122,098$9,737–$100,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Perry Johnson Charitable FoundationPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$15,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Bellis FoundationInvitation only$10,000$32.5M$1,000–$8.2MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Samuel & Jean Frankel FoundationInvitation only$175,000$30.3M$1,000–$19.6MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Samuel and Jean FrankelInvitation only$220,000$29.8M$1,000–$25.3MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Lachimi FoundationInvitation only$15M$15M—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The D Dan and Betty Kahn FoundationInvitation only$100,000$10M$18,000–$13MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Marvin and Betty Danto Family FoundationInvitation only$20,000$3M$3,000–$552,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.

65 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2022–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.