Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Traverse City, Michigan

52
foundations with a Traverse City address
$20M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
10
say they accept unsolicited
$5,832
median grant

Grantlas lists 52 foundations that gave a Traverse City, Michigan address on their tax filing — 48 private foundations and 4 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $20 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 10 of them (19%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Traverse City foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 52 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Traverse City, Michigan
Oleson FoundationAccepts$11,000$1.6M$850–$90,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Margaret Dunning FoundationAccepts$30,000$1.1M$8,000–$90,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Art and Mary Schmuckal FamilyAccepts$6,400$523,150$1,000–$100,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Boundless Futures FoundationAccepts$20,000$510,000$10,000–$30,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Les & Ann Biederman Foundation IncAccepts$10,000$489,284$500–$50,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Worthington Family FoundationAccepts$20,000$245,510$5,000–$46,615FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Cosgrove FoundationAccepts$7,100$219,507$500–$35,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Rali MinistriesAccepts$1,600$7,000$1,000–$3,462FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Rock Charitable FoundationAccepts$1,000$2,000One amountFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Haggard FoundationAccepts$1,000$1,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Grand Traverse Regional Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$13,750Over $5k only$4M$5,120–$392,815FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Impact 100 of Traverse City IncPublic foundationNot stated$116,000Over $5k only$348,000One amountFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Grand Traverse Pavilions FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$107,970Over $5k only$91,978$91,978–$123,961FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
United Way of Northwest MichiganFederationNot stated$10,000Over $5k only$60,691$8,250–$11,750FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
HE Rayfield Jr Foundation IncInvitation only$62,500$3.6M$1,000–$1.5MFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Joseph G and Helen I ZimmermanInvitation only$10,000$1.8M$5,000–$1.5MFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ames Family FoundationInvitation only$47,500$865,000$20,000–$165,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Mariel FoundationInvitation only$10,000$701,020$1,000–$135,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Broad Family FoundationInvitation only$10,000$542,350$5,000–$60,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Green Brick Foundation IncInvitation only$1,000$456,800$500–$107,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Herrington-Fitch Family FoundationInvitation only$1,000$342,343$25–$250,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Hitchens Family FoundationInvitation only$5,264$341,055$1,500–$95,000FY2023Locked: fit score and contacts
Kegley Family FoundationInvitation only$5,000$287,800$300–$30,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Wilda C Tiffany Charitable TrustInvitation only$25,000$245,000$5,000–$100,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Stonisch FoundationInvitation only$10,000$210,000$3,000–$75,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.

27 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.