Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Birmingham, Michigan

78
foundations with a Birmingham address
$101.6M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
8
say they accept unsolicited
$10,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 78 foundations that gave a Birmingham, Michigan address on their tax filing — 76 private foundations and 2 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $101.6 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 8 of them (10%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Birmingham foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 78 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Birmingham, Michigan
Aa Van Elslander FoundationAccepts$50,000$8M$5,000–$4MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Leinweber FoundationAccepts$75,000$4.1M$10,000–$3MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Edwin and Jeanette May FoundationAccepts$75,000$1.1M$5,000–$212,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Van Elslander Family FoundationAccepts$60,000$355,000$20,000–$125,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Marjorie and Maxwell JospeyAccepts$2,500$245,850$500–$40,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Holley FoundationAccepts$20,000$198,000$1,000–$40,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Williams Family FundAccepts$20,000$121,200$5,000–$155,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Fitzgibbon Dermidoff FoundationAccepts$2,000$29,760$260–$10,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Rose Hill FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$500,000Over $5k only$500,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Michael J George CharityGrantmaking charityNot stated—Over $5k only$5,000—FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
William Davidson FoundationInvitation only$287,500$59.6M$10,000–$6.1MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
McDonald Agape FoundationInvitation only$91,620$7M$8,000–$585,282FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Alix FoundationInvitation only$23,898$4.4M$1,000–$3.5MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Milner Hotels FoundationInvitation only$50,000$1.7M$10,000–$250,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Joyce & Don Massey Family FoundationInvitation only$1.4M$1.4M—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Danialle and Peter Karmanos JrInvitation only$10,000$1.4M$100–$800,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Charrington FoundationInvitation only$701,500$1.1M$303,000–$1.1MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Zlotoff Generations FundInvitation only$5,000$1M$250–$495,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ralph L & Winifred E Polk FoundationInvitation only$15,500$758,500$3,000–$100,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Strum Allesee Family FoundationInvitation only$15,000$688,500$3,000–$175,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Karen & Drew Peslar FoundationInvitation only$10,000$556,820$5,000–$110,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Eugene Applebaum Family FoundationInvitation only$5,000$492,010$36–$125,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
US - China Cultural FoundationInvitation only$28,250$476,507$1,682–$305,013FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The FK Legacy FoundationInvitation only$501,107$431,481$431,481–$570,732FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Artichoke Garlic FoundationInvitation only$15,000$421,657$1,200–$155,457FY2023Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.

53 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.