Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Frederick, Maryland

33
foundations with a Frederick address
$33.5M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
7
say they accept unsolicited
$5,000
median grant

Grantlas lists 33 foundations that gave a Frederick, Maryland address on their tax filing — 30 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $33.5 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 7 of them (21%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Frederick foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 33 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Frederick, Maryland
Ausherman Family FoundationAccepts$2,500$698,928$100–$75,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
William E Cross Foundation IncAccepts$5,000$405,100$1,000–$77,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
G Frank Thomas Foundation Inc MainAccepts$4,000$218,000$1,000–$15,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Maryland Society for DisabledAccepts$10,000$60,000One amountNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Monocacy Foundation IncAccepts$396$53,672$84–$22,568No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Jmn Charitable Association IncAccepts$211$11,870$101–$9,200No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Amaryllis Foundation IncAccepts$2,075$3,650$1,000–$3,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Community Foundation of Frederick County Maryland IncCommunity foundationNot stated$20,149Over $5k only$9.7M$5,014–$1MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Asbury Foundation IncPublic foundationNot stated$4.5MOver $5k only$9.1M$1.1M–$7.8MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
United Way of Frederick County IncFederationNot stated$16,708Over $5k only$933,890$5,641–$99,826No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Global Ahead IncInvitation only$488,968$5.2M$170,000–$1.3MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Delaplaine Foundation IncInvitation only$10,000$3.6M$250–$215,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Matan Family Foundation IncInvitation only$20,500$1.3M$500–$383,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
James M Stockman Charitable TrustInvitation only$250,000$500,000One amountNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Our Heavenly Cause Foundation IncInvitation only$10,000$418,400$460–$150,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ed Whittington Charitable TrustInvitation only$42,731$218,720$41,717–$43,744No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Loats Foundation IncInvitation only$8,500$200,000$3,000–$60,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Dr Henry P & M Page Durkee LaughlinInvitation only$2,500$195,182$500–$61,182No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Naaa Warren Young Sr ScholasticInvitation only$500$144,000$100–$10,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Margaret T Dickerson TrustInvitation only$136,698$136,698—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Joseph D Baker Fund IncInvitation only$4,000$128,000$1,000–$20,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Richard B Shorten Family FoundationInvitation only$20,000$120,000One amountNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Will Group Foundation IncInvitation only$3,000$107,308$25–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Ruddie Memorial Youth FoundationInvitation only$30,000$60,000One amountNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The William Bert Anderson FoundationInvitation only$35,000$25,000$25,000–$35,872Down 30% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

8 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.