Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Chevy Chase, Maryland

73
foundations with a Chevy Chase address
$282M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
14
say they accept unsolicited
$5,500
median grant

Grantlas lists 73 foundations that gave a Chevy Chase, Maryland address on their tax filing — 70 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $282 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 14 of them (19%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Chevy Chase foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 73 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Chevy Chase, Maryland
Mayberg Foundation IncAccepts$10,000$8.5M$100–$1.5MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The James M Johnston Trust for Char & EducAccepts$4.2M$4.2M—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
William S Abell Foundation IncAccepts$25,000$2.8M$2,500–$225,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The W O'Neil FoundationAccepts$20,000$2.5M$2,500–$1MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Martha & Philip Sagon Family FoundationAccepts$50,000$1M$25,000–$300,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Harry & Fay Burka Foundation IncAccepts$4,758$848,312$1,928–$815,869No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Bernard Family FoundationAccepts$22,500$802,500$2,500–$230,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Steuart Foundation IncAccepts$5,000$199,995$100–$92,564No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
S Kann Sons Foundation IncAccepts$5,000$127,500$1,500–$25,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Harold and Nancy Zirkin FoundationAccepts$13,250$111,880$5,000–$45,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
National Home Library FoundationAccepts$5,000$90,218$1,500–$5,718No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Frank and Marta JagerAccepts$1,000$50,950$100–$15,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Frederick Hartwig Memorial FoundationAccepts$15,921$15,921—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Edge of the Universe Players 2 IncorporatedAccepts$2,875$3,250$2,500–$3,250No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Davidson Nicely Associate Assistance FundPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$1.3M—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Many Hands IncGrantmaking charityNot stated$75,000Over $5k only$325,000$75,000–$100,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
MetroBethesda Rotary Foundation IncPublic foundationNot stated$9,500Over $5k only$163,485$6,000–$20,510No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2023Locked: fit score and contacts
Clark Charitable Foundation IncInvitation only$350,000$187M$5,000–$23MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Sherman Fairchild Foundation IncInvitation only$72,774$48.3M$15,000–$10MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Rosenfeld Rumford Steckler FamilyInvitation only$2,300$6.3M$500–$2.1MUp 2331% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Geico Philanthropic FoundationInvitation only$61,836$4.6M$12,975–$4.4MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Chessie Foundation IncInvitation only$70,000$1.5M$25,000–$750,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Womenstrong InternationalInvitation only$25,000$1.1M$15,000–$50,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
John G & Jean R Gosnell FoundationInvitation only$30,000$1.1M$2,500–$70,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Carlynn and Lawrence SilvermanInvitation only$29,850$1.1M$5,500–$218,500No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

48 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.