Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Spokane, Washington

71
foundations with a Spokane address
$33.2M
grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
14
say they accept unsolicited
$8,500
median grant

Grantlas lists 71 foundations that gave a Spokane, Washington address on their tax filing — 65 private foundations and 6 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $33.2 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 14 of them (20%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Spokane foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 71 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Spokane, Washington
PWH Educational Foundation IncAccepts$2.8M$2.8M—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Avista FoundationAccepts$750$2.2M$10–$350,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Johnston-Fix FoundationAccepts$25,000$468,720$5,000–$50,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Selinger-Shone FoundationAccepts$1,000$125,500$500–$71,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Alfred & Elma Milotte Scholarship Fund 2915Accepts$4,000$80,000$4,000–$16,750No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Seelig Family FoundationAccepts$1,000$68,672$500–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Welty Foundation IncAccepts$5,000$54,300$2,500–$18,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Pink ShamrockAccepts$3,750$46,000$2,000–$9,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Denton Foundation IncAccepts$1,289$34,174$360–$8,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Klaue Family FoundationAccepts$5,000$24,000$4,000–$5,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Herman Oscar Schumacher School Fund XXX-XX-XxxxAccepts$6,000$18,000One amountNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Scammell FoundationAccepts$4,364$10,500$4,364–$10,500No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Community Building FoundationAccepts$2,000$8,500$2,000–$2,500No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Spokane Badminton ClubAccepts$250$300$200–$300No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Innovia FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$15,000Over $5k only$13.5M$5,001–$650,566No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
United Way of Spokane CountyFederationNot stated$15,091Over $5k only$307,788$5,104–$163,129Down 82% over 3 yearsFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Living Water FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$15,000Over $5k only$205,974$8,001–$55,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Grace Giving InternationalPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$186,460—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Spokane Rotary FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$110,052Over $5k only$110,052—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Senior Homes Foundation of Eastern WashingtonGrantmaking charityNot stated$281,793Over $5k only$37,642$37,642–$525,943No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Lanterman FoundationInvitation only$79,000$5.6M$3,000–$1.4MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Empire Health FoundationInvitation only$10,000$1.1M$300–$185,137No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Smith-Barbieri Progressive FundInvitation only$8,500$1M$2,500–$407,799No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Welsh Family FoundationInvitation only$25,000$742,136$7,550–$229,586No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Harriet Cheney Cowles FoundationInvitation only$75,000$570,000$25,000–$250,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

46 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.