Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Bellingham, Washington

32
foundations with a Bellingham address
$25.8M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
8
say they accept unsolicited
$6,589
median grant

Grantlas lists 32 foundations that gave a Bellingham, Washington address on their tax filing — 27 private foundations and 5 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $25.8 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 8 of them (25%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Bellingham foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 32 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Bellingham, Washington
Mount Baker FoundationAccepts$10,000$3.7M$500–$2.5MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Dudley FoundationAccepts$12,000$501,194$100–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
George & Audrey Rasmussen FamilyAccepts$625$85,333$150–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Dennis & Audrey Brown FoundationAccepts$4,998$80,619$200–$10,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
University of Northern British ColumbiaAccepts$50,000$50,000—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Skeen Family Foundation IncAccepts$1,500$40,460$200–$17,460No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Mayor Lou Parberry FoundationAccepts$5,000$28,200$2,000–$16,200No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Benjamin & Sara Greenspan FundAccepts$750$18,000$250–$2,250No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Whatcom Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$15,020Over $5k only$7.4M$5,050–$1MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
United Way of Whatcom CountyFederationNot stated$23,250Over $5k only$739,961$10,000–$63,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Eleanor and Henry Jansen FoundationGrantmaking charityNot stated$10,400Over $5k only$351,770$6,500–$65,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kodai Friends International IncPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$175,405—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Bellingham Central Lions Club FoundationPublic foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$58,975—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ouroboros FoundationInvitation only$123,032$7M$57,000–$6.7MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Kaiser Borsari FoundationInvitation only$200,000$2.2M$20,000–$2MUp 12% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Anders FoundationInvitation only$5,000$1.6M$50–$1MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Mabo FoundationInvitation only$7,000$378,000$1,000–$370,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Eleanor Anne Bustanoby-Keane FoundationInvitation only$2,000$253,000$500–$194,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
J & L Freedom FoundationInvitation only$15,014$245,027$10,000–$100,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Mark and Thuy Barnett Family FoundationInvitation only$116,856$233,711$54,931–$178,780No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Hollander Family FoundationInvitation only$2,600$148,407$1,300–$144,507No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Var StillaInvitation only$50,000$135,500$18,000–$67,500No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Tree of Life ChariitesInvitation only$102,452$102,452—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Dr Lloyd and Kay Chapman CharitableInvitation only$500$87,442$40–$25,700No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Lin Equity and Equality FoundationInvitation only$10,000$46,333$8,500–$17,833No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

7 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.