Foundations · IRS 990 filings
Foundations in Springfield, Illinois
- 39
- foundations with a Springfield address
- $11.8M
- grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
- 8
- say they accept unsolicited
- $5,000
- median grant
Grantlas lists 39 foundations that gave a Springfield, Illinois address on their tax filing — 33 private foundations and 6 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $11.8 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 8 of them (21%) say they accept unsolicited requests.
Not every foundation here is a Springfield foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.
Top 25 of 39 foundations
Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.
| Funder | Unsolicited requests | Median grant | Grants paid, latest filing | Grant range | Filing year | Fit score & contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M G Nelson Family Foundation | Accepts | $5,000 | $972,100 | $500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Marion G & Barbara W Nelson Foundation | Accepts | $100,000 | $350,000 | $1,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Brandt Foundation Inc | Accepts | $6,250 | $141,670 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Noble Foundation | Accepts | $17,500 | $105,809 | $10,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation | Accepts | $5,000 | $30,000 | $1,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Illinois Broadcasters Foundation Inc | Accepts | $1,500 | $27,700 | $1,200 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| IAAP Education Foundation | Accepts | $2,000 | $11,000 | $2,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Karen Sue Lieber Foundation | Accepts | $2,000 | $4,700 | $200 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Lincoln Land Community College FoundationFederation | Not stated | $1.9MOver $5k only | $2.4M | One amount | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| United Way of Central Illinois IncFederation | Not stated | $34,348Over $5k only | $1M | $9,500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| International Health & Development Network IncFederation | Not stated | —Over $5k only | $241,178 | — | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Springfield Rotary FoundationFederation | Not stated | $27,925Over $5k only | $96,600 | One amount | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Illinois Community College System FoundationCommunity foundation | Not stated | —Over $5k only | $75,700 | — | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Jewish Federation of Springfield IllinoisFederation | Not stated | $46,162Over $5k only | $40,455 | $40,455 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Levi Ray & Shoup Foundation | Invitation only | $6,750 | $1.2M | $225 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Aa Harvey Foundation | Invitation only | $5,000 | $1M | $500 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Dale and Deborah Smith Foundation | Invitation only | $30,000 | $865,000 | $10,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Coghill Family Foundation | Invitation only | $25,000 | $673,665 | $2,700 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Horace Mann Educators Foundation | Invitation only | $5,000 | $567,000 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Henry M Staley Declaration of Charit TR | Invitation only | $3,000 | $443,000 | $500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Sally Lorraine Sedlak Vaughan | Invitation only | $30,000 | $435,300 | $2,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| James Orlandini Foundation | Invitation only | $10,000 | $253,904 | $1,293 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Melvin D Wing Charitable Trust | Individuals only | $165,955 | $172,910 | $159,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Carol Jo Vecchie Memorial Foundation | Invitation only | $150,000 | $150,000 | — | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Clarence & Ida Klassen Charitable Foundation | Invitation only | $16,420 | $98,510 | $13,675 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
- Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
- “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
- A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.