Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Quincy, Illinois

38
foundations with a Quincy address
$27.7M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
13
say they accept unsolicited
$5,100
median grant

Grantlas lists 38 foundations that gave a Quincy, Illinois address on their tax filing — 33 private foundations and 5 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $27.7 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 13 of them (34%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Quincy foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 38 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Quincy, Illinois
J2 Family FoundationAccepts$5,000$525,000$4,400–$520,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Jw Gardner II FoundationAccepts$10,000$330,035$1,200–$47,135No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Niemann Foods FoundationAccepts$1,000$89,000$1,000–$35,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Adams County Folk CareAccepts$3,750$84,084$500–$5,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Stillwell FoundationAccepts$3,300$71,600$2,000–$32,800No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Keller Gorman Family FoundationAccepts$10,000$61,000$1,000–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Lindsay Family FoundationAccepts$10,000$60,000One amountUp 20% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Rotary Foundation of QuincyAccepts$20,000$40,000$15,000–$25,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Michelmann FoundationAccepts$500$19,907$75–$2,350No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
C Dorothy Bader TrustAccepts$802$7,511$200–$830No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Messick Family FoundationAccepts$3,000$3,000—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
We in Quincy Illinois Back the BlueAccepts$1,642$1,642—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Josie Basket ProjectAccepts$500$500—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Cfm FoundationFederationNot stated$75,000Over $5k only$17.3M$5,200–$10MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Community Foundation of the Quincy AreaCommunity foundationNot stated$15,933Over $5k only$5.8M$5,052–$2.9MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
United Way of Adams County IncFederationNot stated$32,725Over $5k only$635,808$10,000–$80,650No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Quincy Medical Group Healthcare FoundationPublic foundationNot stated$14,488Over $5k only$194,604$7,500–$57,265No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Transitions FoundationGrantmaking charityNot stated$11,250Over $5k only$11,250—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
L E Willson Charitable TRInvitation only$678,612$657,223$650,000–$820,760Down 6% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Marvin W Richter Charitable TrustInvitation only$2,500$329,324$500–$200,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Harry A Klene TrustInvitation only$38,646$272,162$24,312–$204,122No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
L E Willson Trust BInvitation only$168,416$265,362$71,470–$265,362No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Gem City Scholarship FoundationIndividuals only$5,200$198,680$2,500–$9,200No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Hofmeister FoundationInvitation only$250$144,944$50–$40,600No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Backlund Charitable TrustInvitation only$62,000$140,000$1,800–$70,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

13 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.