Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Lawrence, Kansas

26
foundations with a Lawrence address
$17.4M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
5
say they accept unsolicited
$10,769
median grant

Grantlas lists 26 foundations that gave a Lawrence, Kansas address on their tax filing — 23 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $17.4 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 5 of them (19%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Lawrence foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

All 26 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Lawrence, Kansas
Ethel & Raymond F Rice FoundationAccepts$25,000$1M$1,000–$120,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Kriz Charitable Fund IncAccepts$35,000$300,561$20,000–$138,061FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
A John and Barbara A HauptliAccepts$2,000$34,000$120–$10,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
McSwain FoundationAccepts$500$11,000$500–$1,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Saripalli Family Foundation IncAccepts$585$1,810$225–$1,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Douglas County Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$15,915Over $5k only$10.5M$5,056–$1.8MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Lawrence Public Library Friends and FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$521,132Over $5k only$521,132—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Independence Charitable TrustPublic foundationNot stated$194,000Over $5k only$194,000—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Cinelli Family FoundationInvitation only$11,000$1.7M$11,000–$1MFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Guy & Ruby Casebourn MurphyInvitation only$400,000$860,356$60,356–$400,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The McIntyre FoundationInvitation only$8,500$794,440$690–$135,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Starr F Schlobohm Education TrustInvitation only$642,068$642,068—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Millard - Jinx Private FoundationInvitation only$94,217$188,433$50,020–$138,413FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Case Commons IncInvitation only$10,000$135,375$5,000–$20,375FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
John T & Betty Ann Lewis FoundationInvitation only$39,000$125,000$2,000–$40,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Bertha R Brister Hospital TrustInvitation only$30,310$108,188$27,047–$60,621FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Anthony A Schmidt Family FoundationInvitation only$2,000$88,000$250–$12,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Alfred Bromelsick TrustInvitation only$18,599$55,797One amountFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
H Neil Mecaskey Jr Foundation IncInvitation only$10,000$35,000$1,250–$20,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Dunlap Family FoundationInvitation only$625$21,900$100–$7,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Wilderness Comm Education FoundationInvitation only$15,000$15,000—FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Daisy studios incIndividuals only$550$11,375$50–$1,650FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Ruby Hall Memorial Scholarship FundInvitation only$10,537$10,537—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Plankinton FoundationInvitation only$1,500$7,500$1,500–$4,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Easterday Charitable FoundationInvitation only$2,400$5,400$500–$2,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Herman Chung Foundation USAInvitation only$1,700$1,700—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.