Foundations · IRS 990 filings
Foundations in Toledo, Ohio
- 52
- foundations with a Toledo address
- $45.7M
- grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
- 8
- say they accept unsolicited
- $7,000
- median grant
Grantlas lists 52 foundations that gave a Toledo, Ohio address on their tax filing — 45 private foundations and 7 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $45.7 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 8 of them (15%) say they accept unsolicited requests.
Not every foundation here is a Toledo foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.
Top 25 of 52 foundations
Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.
| Funder | Unsolicited requests | Median grant | Grants paid, latest filing | Grant range | Filing year | Fit score & contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Owens Corning Foundation | Accepts | $5.7M | $5.7M | — | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| France Stone Foundation | Accepts | $661,361 | $685,102 | $637,619 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| John & Virginia Hankison Foundation | Accepts | $5,000 | $235,500 | $100 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Robert C and Susan M Savage | Accepts | $500 | $189,688 | $25 | FY2023 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Hcr Manor Care Foundation Inc | Accepts | $63,850 | $122,786 | $4,914 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Bedacht Foundation | Accepts | $3,500 | $27,000 | $2,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Bayer Family Foundation | Accepts | $19,000 | $19,000 | — | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Perry Scholarship Pfdn | Accepts | $1,000 | $18,500 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Toledo Community Foundation IncCommunity foundation | Not stated | $15,500Over $5k only | $20.8M | $5,026 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| United Way of Greater ToledoFederation | Not stated | $22,501Over $5k only | $2.7M | $5,059 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Lhs Foundation IncFederation | Not stated | $396,274Over $5k only | $809,292 | $22,858 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Andersons Fund Supporting OrganizationPublic foundation | Not stated | $15,000Over $5k only | $249,000 | $6,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The St Johns Jesuit Scholarship Granting OrganizationPublic foundation | Not stated | $210,432Over $5k only | $210,432 | — | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Global Educ CampaignPublic foundation | Not stated | —Over $5k only | $122,500 | — | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Toledo Rotary Club FoundationPublic foundation | Not stated | $82,500Over $5k only | $3,750 | One amount | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| John Henry Eldred Jr Foundation | Invitation only | $10,000 | $3.6M | $200 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Rita Barbour Kern Foundation | Invitation only | $103,783 | $1.3M | $15,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Ebeid Family Foundation | Invitation only | $1.2M | $1.3M | $1.2M | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Carolyn and Herbert Metzger Foundation | Invitation only | $27,500 | $1.2M | $10,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Thaman Family Foundation Ica | Invitation only | $50,000 | $1.2M | $3,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Cooper Family Foundation | Invitation only | $10,000 | $946,000 | $5,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Hylant Family Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $2,500 | $849,150 | $100 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Wilcox Family Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $200 | $656,565 | $50 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Welltower Charitable Foundation | Invitation only | $206 | $471,842 | $26 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| George Isaac Foundation | Invitation only | $2,500 | $425,421 | $450 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
- Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
- “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
- A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.