Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in West Des Moines, Iowa

39
foundations with a West Des Moines address
$15.7M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
12
say they accept unsolicited
$4,175
median grant

Grantlas lists 39 foundations that gave a West Des Moines, Iowa address on their tax filing — 36 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $15.7 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 12 of them (31%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a West Des Moines foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 39 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in West Des Moines, Iowa
Athene Charitable FoundationAccepts$5,000$3.5M$263–$1.5MFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The West Bancorporation Foundation IncAccepts$2,500$332,313$250–$15,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Daniels Family Foundation Fka theAccepts$2,250$264,706$72–$62,520FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Wright Service Corp FoundationAccepts$15,000$184,621$2,500–$50,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
McCullough Family FoundationAccepts$7,500$120,000$500–$65,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Iowa Realty FoundationAccepts$104,853$100,000$100,000–$109,706FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Charlotte and William HinsonAccepts$1,000$80,000$1,000–$10,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Wolf FoundationAccepts$3,000$67,810$974–$10,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Mark & Kathy Larson FoundationAccepts$500$35,640$100–$21,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Merchant Foundation of IowaAccepts$2,000$35,500$1,000–$10,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Iowa Bible MissionAccepts$4,500$8,700$1,200–$7,500FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Stephen R Grubb Charitable FoundationAccepts$1,712$3,423$1,000–$2,423FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Chrysalis FoundationGrantmaking charityNot stated$3,850Over $5k only$311,155$500–$24,900FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
West Des Moines Community Schools FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated—Over $5k only$227,992—FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Faith Community FoundationGrantmaking charityNot stated$36,000Over $5k only$144,900$10,100–$60,400FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Telligen Community InitiativeInvitation only$73,990$2.2M$2,500–$141,873FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
J Wesley Graham TWInvitation only$678,711$1.4M$1,000–$1.7MFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Noble FoundationInvitation only$20,000$1.2M$2,500–$250,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Sahu Family FoundationInvitation only$300,000$803,759$50,000–$753,759FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Deb & Bob Pulver FoundationInvitation only$2,500$759,552$500–$250,000FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Dan and Joanie Houston FoundationInvitation only$50,000$603,600$300–$50,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Merchants Bonding Company FoundationInvitation only$500$468,768$25–$102,805FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
R & R Realty Group FoundationInvitation only$5,000$420,520$750–$103,500FY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Jim & Marie Wood FoundationInvitation only$3,500$407,500$1,000–$300,000FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Ita Group FoundationInvitation only$1,000$381,015$100–$115,315FY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.

14 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.