Foundations · IRS 990 filings
Foundations in Burlington, Iowa
- 30
- foundations with a Burlington address
- $1.8M
- grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
- 7
- say they accept unsolicited
- $2,052
- median grant
Grantlas lists 30 foundations that gave a Burlington, Iowa address on their tax filing — 28 private foundations and 2 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $1.8 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 7 of them (23%) say they accept unsolicited requests.
Not every foundation here is a Burlington foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.
Top 25 of 30 foundations
Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.
| Funder | Unsolicited requests | Median grant | Grants paid, latest filing | Grant range | Filing year | Fit score & contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sterzing Memorial Scholarship Fund | Accepts | $11,690 | $49,697 | $3,096 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Kings Daughters Home for Old People | Accepts | $1,375 | $43,400 | $500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Kenneth Cooksey-Norma Cook | Accepts | $2,000 | $29,500 | $1,500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Sheridan-Setterberg Memorial Trust | Accepts | $1,878 | $5,578 | $1,562 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Robert Rowley Scholarship Fund Trus | Accepts | $2,250 | $3,450 | $1,150 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Albert P and Edna Louisa Wenieke | Accepts | $375 | $750 | $250 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Clarence W & Amelia Bess Moody | Accepts | $1,125 | $750 | $750 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Community Foundation of Des Moines CountyPublic foundation | Not stated | $14,484Over $5k only | $175,475 | $7,494 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Dewey Byar TrustGrantmaking charity | Not stated | $57,862Over $5k only | $59,573 | $56,150 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Winegard Foundation | Invitation only | $300,000 | $800,000 | $200,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Jean Miletich Charitable Foundation | Invitation only | $140,062 | $140,062 | — | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Albert J Schmidt Trust | Invitation only | $90,671 | $93,067 | $88,274 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Special Needs Foundation of Des Moines County | Invitation only | $2,090 | $80,890 | $1,290 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Jani-Dhuna Foundation | Invitation only | $1,000 | $46,600 | $100 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Robbins Scholarship Trust | Individuals only | $5,000 | $45,003 | $2,500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Herbert W Mehl Trust | Invitation only | $8,706 | $44,530 | $1,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Floyd H Granaman TR | Invitation only | $31,896 | $33,071 | $30,720 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Mary K Seeley Trust | Invitation only | $7,489 | $31,477 | $2,894 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Mary Ward & Ruth Buehler Education | Invitation only | $19,882 | $20,764 | $18,999 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Carl A Nelson Charitable Foundation | Invitation only | $500 | $20,050 | $100 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Wesley and Barbara Swiler Memorial | Invitation only | $1,900 | $16,000 | $900 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Helen Raider Memorial Trust | Invitation only | $750 | $15,750 | $500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Lois Porterfield Trovillo Memorial | Invitation only | $15,000 | $15,000 | — | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Jonan Haskell Scholarship Trust | Individuals only | $2,013 | $6,913 | $1,750 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Florence Potter Scholarship Trust | Individuals only | $500 | $4,500 | $500 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
- Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
- “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
- A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.