Foundations · IRS 990 filings

Foundations in Sheridan, Wyoming

54
foundations with a Sheridan address
$21.5M
grants paid, FY2024–FY2025
20
say they accept unsolicited
$8,875
median grant

Grantlas lists 54 foundations that gave a Sheridan, Wyoming address on their tax filing — 51 private foundations and 3 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2024–FY2025. Together they paid out $21.5 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 20 of them (37%) say they accept unsolicited requests.

Not every foundation here is a Sheridan foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.

Top 25 of 54 foundations

Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.

Foundations in Sheridan, Wyoming
Whitney Benefits IncAccepts$120,000$4.5M$1,001–$2.1MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Marna M Kuehne FoundationAccepts$50,000$1.6M$3,000–$375,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Joe and Arlene Watt Foundation IncAccepts$25,000$1.4M$2,500–$300,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Homer A Scott & Mildred S Scott FoundationAccepts$3,000$735,811$250–$1.1MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Walt & Olga Pilch FoundationAccepts$94,768$375,296$3,750–$276,778No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Harry & Thelma Surrena MemorialAccepts$12,500$305,000$5,000–$35,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Plank Stewardship InitiativeAccepts$20,000$278,961$1,800–$62,750No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Bf & Rose H Perkins FoundationAccepts$5,000$275,373$250–$125,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
The Herbert & Dorothy ZulligAccepts$5,000$203,600$1,000–$50,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Witzel Family FoundationAccepts$9,000$174,174$500–$141,953No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
William F Welch &Accepts$2,000$167,500$1,000–$103,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Gary and Wanda Walsh Family FoundationAccepts$8,750$150,900$3,300–$30,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Joe F and Roberta Napier FoundationAccepts$5,000$134,000$500–$20,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Grateful Hearts FoundationAccepts$1,030$57,963$500–$25,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
John and Helen Ilsley FamilyAccepts$1,000$26,000$1,000–$20,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Seven Pillars FoundationAccepts$20,000$20,000—No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Louis W Horvath Foundation IncAccepts$3,975$13,600$300–$5,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Gerald F & Rose M Kaul FoundationAccepts$3,000$9,000$2,000–$4,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
William Emery FoundationAccepts$2,750$3,000$2,000–$5,327No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Gomez Near FoundationAccepts$150$1,200$25–$1,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
Western Futures Fund IncGrantmaking charityNot stated$100,000Over $5k only$6.8M$10,000–$1.9MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Sheridan Community FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$62,500Over $5k only$274,994$5,019–$200,000No grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Sheridan Community Education FoundationCommunity foundationNot stated$284,602Over $5k only$81,588$81,588–$529,367Down 85% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
The Roberts Family FoundationInvitation only$20,000$1.3M$2,000–$1.2MNo grants on file for the year three years back, so there is nothing to compareFY2024Locked: fit score and contacts
Vernon & Rowena Griffith FoundationInvitation only$10,000$688,580$3,000–$350,000Down 22% over 3 yearsFY2025Locked: fit score and contacts
  • Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
  • “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
  • A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
  • 3-yr trend compares the latest filing year with the year two before it, so it needs grants on file for both. Most foundations file one year of grants, so most rows show a dash.

29 more foundations — see all in Grantlas

Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2024–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.