Foundations · IRS 990 filings
Foundations in Tuscaloosa, Alabama
- 26
- foundations with a Tuscaloosa address
- $8.6M
- grants paid, FY2023–FY2025
- 6
- say they accept unsolicited
- $7,500
- median grant
Grantlas lists 26 foundations that gave a Tuscaloosa, Alabama address on their tax filing — 21 private foundations and 5 grantmaking charities such as community foundations and United Ways — from filings for FY2023–FY2025. Together they paid out $8.6 million in grants in their latest filing year, and 6 of them (23%) say they accept unsolicited requests.
Not every foundation here is a Tuscaloosa foundation. The city is the mailing address on the foundation’s tax filing, and when a bank or a law firm runs the trust that is the bank’s address, not the place it gives to. Check where a foundation gives before you write.
All 26 foundations
Ranked by what they paid in grants in their latest filing, with the ones that accept unsolicited requests first, then the ones whose filing doesn’t say.
| Funder | Unsolicited requests | Median grant | Grants paid, latest filing | Grant range | Filing year | Fit score & contacts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The James I Harrison Family Foundation | Accepts | $10,000 | $491,833 | $1,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Reese Phifer Jr Memorial | Accepts | $1,000 | $363,495 | $100 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| McAbee Family Foundation | Accepts | $5,000 | $109,000 | $1,000 | FY2023 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| James W & Jean Hartley Hallmon | Accepts | $35,000 | $70,000 | One amount | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The McAbee Foundation | Accepts | $37,000 | $28,500 | $28,500 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Richard M Snow Foundation Inc | Accepts | $100 | $6,000 | $75 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| United Way of West Alabama IncFederation | Not stated | $94,318Over $5k only | $3.4M | $21,550 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Community Foundation of West AlabamaCommunity foundation | Not stated | $10,900Over $5k only | $1.2M | $5,100 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Alabama One Aspire FoundationPublic foundation | Not stated | $25,000Over $5k only | $157,710 | $10,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Arc of Tusc County Endowment FundGrantmaking charity | Not stated | $139,998Over $5k only | $129,996 | $129,996 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Partners in Recovery IncPublic foundation | Not stated | —Over $5k only | $35,423 | — | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Hewson Family Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $60,000 | $810,300 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Westervelt Foundation | Invitation only | $3,000 | $383,250 | $150 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The John Herman Hickman Foundation | Invitation only | $180,073 | $360,145 | $55,973 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Warner Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $30,500 | $290,600 | $200 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Pistrisdens Foundation | Invitation only | $1,000 | $270,000 | $500 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| The Chambers Charitable Foundation Inc | Invitation only | $10,000 | $160,000 | $5,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Louise W and Luther W Richardson | Invitation only | $7,500 | $85,000 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Tuscaloosa Fellowship Ministries Inc | Invitation only | $7,602 | $66,098 | $2,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Holland & Carolyn Powell Foundation | Invitation only | $1,123 | $55,004 | $100 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Phelps Family Foundation | Invitation only | $6,000 | $54,000 | $3,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| William Griffin Besant Memorial | Invitation only | $5,000 | $51,000 | $5,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Wilson Family Charitable Foundation | Invitation only | $100 | $18,610 | $10 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Ray Foundation | Invitation only | $3,500 | $16,500 | $1,000 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| Ashcraft Trust Fund One | Invitation only | $1,875 | $15,750 | $1,000 | FY2025 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
| McPhearson Foundation | Invitation only | $200 | $3,500 | $200 | FY2024 | Locked: fit score and contactsLocked |
- Median grant and grant range come from each funder’s grant schedule; a dash means there is none to report. Community foundations and other charities list only grants over $5,000, so their figures run high.
- “One grant” means a schedule with a single grant — no median, nothing to range over. “One amount” means several grants, all the same size.
- A median grant larger than the grants paid is not a mistake: the grant schedule and the year’s total come from different parts of the tax filing, and a foundation can list a grant it approved in a year it paid out less.
Data from 990-PF and Form 990 filings, FY2023–FY2025. Updated November 8, 2026.